4 Secrets For Your Wedding Flower Consultation From A Florist And Future Bride

pexels-photo-169190

 

You’re getting married! Congratulations! Weddings are so exciting, but they can be overwhelming (coming from someone who is currently planning her own wedding). Here at Lincolnway, we make choosing your flowers easy and stress-free.

Here is everything you need to know to make this the easiest step in all your wedding planning chaos. I work at Lincolnway, and I help with all our weddings. I’ve seen things that brides should not have done and I’ve also seen all the things that a bride has done right. I’m in the midst of planning my own wedding and choosing my flowers was the easiest part in the planning I’ve done so far. So I’ll share my secrets with you because I want your process of choosing wedding flowers to be as easy as mine.

When should you book a consultation with your florist? You don’t want to schedule your appointment too early, but you don’t want to wait until the last minute either. Some brides book their appointments two years before their wedding, and some brides wait until the month before – in other words the last minute! 

I got engaged in March, and my wedding is in September so I couldn’t afford to put it off. I booked my consultation in May. That was about 4 1/2 months before my wedding. I don’t recommend waiting that long because our dates fill up. I waited because I work here. I planned my wedding around the dates we still had available because getting my flowers from Lincolnway is important to me.

Book your appointment when you know your wedding date, your venue, and your dress colors. Six months to a year before to your wedding is a good time to schedule your consultation. If you already know which florist you would choose to do your wedding, book them as soon as possible. You can have your consultation later, but this ensures they will have your date available.

What is your budget for flowers?

First of all, I want to tell you not to underestimate the cost of flowers for your wedding. Flowers are a beautiful tradition that adds so much to a wedding, but they are not cheap. Here at Lincolnway, we work with the bride and groom and their budget every step of the way. But, I see all the work we put into creating gorgeous wedding pieces, and it is A LOT of work.

If you have a tight budget, you should have a general idea of what kinds of flowers are inexpensive. Roses, hydrangea, orchids, peonies, Gerbera daisies, lilies, calla lilies, and tulips are higher end flowers that are more expensive. Daisies, mums, pom poms, and carnations are usually a more affordable option, and they still look beautiful.

Do you have a general idea of what items you’ll need?

Of course, you’ll need bouquets and boutonnieres. But are you giving flowers to your parents and grandparents? What about your ushers and your officiant? Will you have any aisle decor? What about flowers for your cake? These are all things to consider. Below is a link to our wedding consultation checklist. You can download and print this out to give you a general idea of what you need before your consultation.

Wedding Consultation Checklist

What should your bring to your wedding consultation?

Here’s a basic list of the items you will need.

  • Fabric swatches from your dresses
  • Photos to help your florist see your vision for your wedding. Pinterest is a wonderful place to look, but most of the things you will see on Pinterest are expensive. If you have a tighter budget, we can work with you and create the same style you love with more inexpensive flowers.
  • Any special vases, containers, ribbons or fabrics that you would like incorporated into your flowers. One of our brides brought in a piece of lace from her mother’s wedding dress to use as the wrap on her bridal bouquet!

Now you’re ready for your consultation! If you have scheduled your consultation with us, we are so excited to work with you! We love what we do and we can’t wait to make your dreams a reality! If you’ve found another florist, that’s wonderful! Either way, we wish you all the happiness in the world!

 

Leave a Reply

